Moral values in Islam: adultery and theft

Moral values in Islam: adultery and theft

Part of our understanding of any religion is how this religion affects our moral values. In Islam, I was surprised of how Mohammad’s teaching would enhance immorality:

Sahih Bukhari, Book 23: Volume 2, Book 23, Number 329:

     Narrated Abu Dhar:

Allah’s Apostle (Mohammad) said, “Someone came to me from my Lord and gave me the news (or good tidings) that if any of my followers dies worshiping none (in any way) along with Allah, he will enter Paradise.” I asked, “Even if he committed illegal sexual intercourse (adultery) and theft?” He replied, “Even if he committed illegal sexual intercourse (adultery) and theft.”

Here we don’t see any link between good moral values and the religion system. Muslims, according to this authentic Hadith are allowed to steal and commit adultery. It does not matter, all are going to paradise. This is why they have so much decay in their communities. For moderate Muslims, they have either to deny the Hadith and degrade the whole religion with its authentic texts, or deny their religion and admit its immorality. I don’t know what they should do?

This entry was posted in culture, Hadith, Islam, Muslim and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.